Comments Off on Place Of Art and Architect The Sagrada Familia

Place Of Art and Architect The Sagrada Familia

The Sagrada Familia is one of the greatest attractions of Barcelona. The art and architecture of the building puts one in awe, considering the times in which it was built. The construction of the famous building in Spain started in 1882 and is being renovated till now, which is expected to be completed by the year 2041. Josep Bocabella, a Catalan publisher had conceived the idea of the building originally. It represents the increasingly popular idea of revolutions that was apparent in Barcelona during the late 19th century.

Francesc de Paula Villar began construction works by public subscription in a conventional neo-Gothic style. Both of these people couldn’t come to an agreement, so Antoni Gaudi came to its recue and took over the rest of the construction. He had dedicated more than four decades of his life to this construction, spending more than 15 years of his last days, working exclusively and profusely for this very project.

World Heritage Site by UNESCOimage001

The La Sagrada Familia has been categorized as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO. The Roman Catholic basilica is supposed to comprise eighteen tall towers, among which the tallest reaches more than 560 feet in height, 60 meters in width and 95 meters in length. Gaudi passed away in a tragic tram accident and is buried in the crypt of Sagrada Familia now. The cathedral had undergone a considerable amount of damage in the Spanish Civil War in 1936, in the sense, many plans and models were destroyed in order to stop the conservative icons of the city.

The current architect

Jordi Bonet i Armengol is the current architect of the building under whom the responsibility of the constructions rest. With the help of computers since 1980, the construction process has drastically improved. It has helped in designing and speeding up the project too.

A tower topped by a lamb, representing Jesus, which was of 180 meter, was a part of the original design by Gaudi himself. This tower was supposed to be encircled by four towers which were shorter in size, and represented the four evangelists. These were again supposed to be topped by the four animal symbols that are associated with them. Additionally, a fifth tower was supposed to be built representing the Virgin Mary.

Each of the pinnacles would host colorful mosaics and some of them would bear words like ‘Hosanna’, ‘Sanctus’, and ‘Excelsis’ on them. There are three facades in the basilica, namely, the Nativity Façade, Glory Façade, and the Passion Façade, which symbolize three portals, namely hope, love, and faith respectively. The interior of the church has central nave vaults reaching 45 meters and the side vaults reach 30 meters. There are three aisles in the transept and the columns are laid on a grid of 7.5 meter. Gaudi had planned the construction in a way that a visitor who stands at the main entrance, is able to see the crossings, apses, and vaults of the nave.

Written By:

Sheila Kurdinger has a long history with travel and living. Having worked in the space as a reported, she took to the online platform only recently and has been loving the switch to the hilt. Her articles on holiday rentals from Casamundo are of great interest for readers looking at reading interesting travel journals.

Filed in: Destinations Tags: ,

Get Updates

Share This Post

Recent Posts

© 2015 Theslo Guide – Theslo Travel Guide. All rights reserved.